7 Types Of Yorkie Breeds You Must Know

The Yorkshire Terrier, often affectionately called the “Yorkie,” is a popular toy breed known for its small size, elegant appearance, and lively personality.

While there is one recognized breed standard for the Yorkshire Terrier by major dog breed registries, variations and distinctions in their appearance and characteristics exist.

In this article, we’ll explore seven types of Yorkie breeds to help you better understand this delightful canine companion.

Types Of Yorkie Breeds

1. Traditional Yorkie

The traditional Yorkie is the most widely recognized and accepted standard of the Yorkshire Terrier breed.

They typically weigh between 4 to 7 pounds (1.8 to 3.2 kilograms) and stand around 7 to 8 inches (18 to 20 cm) tall at the shoulder. Their coat is silky, straight, and predominantly blue and tan in color, with a distinctive long, flowing mane.

2. Biewer Terrier

The Biewer Terrier, also known as the Biewer Yorkshire Terrier or Biewer a la Pom Pon, is a distinct variation of the Yorkie breed. Originating in Germany, it is recognized by various international kennel clubs as a separate breed.

The Biewer Terrier is known for its tri-colored coat, featuring white, black, and tan markings in a specific and intricate pattern.

3. Parti Yorkie

The Parti Yorkie is another variant of the traditional Yorkshire Terrier. They have a coat that features three or more colors, typically white with black and tan patches.

Unlike the standard Yorkshire Terrier, where the white is limited, Parti Yorkies have a predominantly white coat with distinct colored markings.

4. Teacup Yorkie

Teacup Yorkies are exceptionally small Yorkshire Terriers, often weighing under 4 pounds (1.8 kilograms) and standing less than 7 inches (18 cm) tall. They are bred to be smaller than the standard Yorkie, making them perfect for those seeking a more portable and compact companion.

However, it’s essential to ensure they’re bred ethically and responsibly to avoid potential health issues associated with extreme miniaturization.

5. Golden Yorkshire Terrier

The Golden Yorkshire Terrier is a Yorkie with a unique and rare golden coat. Instead of the traditional blue and tan coloration, their coat exhibits shades of golden or cream, adding a distinctive and eye-catching appearance.

While their coat color differs, they share the same endearing temperament and characteristics of a standard Yorkie.

6. Chocolate Yorkshire Terrier

Chocolate Yorkshire Terriers, as the name suggests, have a brown or chocolate-colored coat, differing from the standard blue and tan.

This variation is less common but equally charming, showcasing a rich and beautiful hue that sets them apart from the traditional Yorkie.

7. Black and Tan Yorkshire Terrier

The Black and Tan Yorkshire Terrier is a variation where the coat predominantly displays black and tan colors without the blue tint seen in traditional Yorkies.

These variations in coat color provide a unique and striking appearance while maintaining the breed’s overall charming and playful personality.

In conclusion, Yorkshire Terriers come in various types and colors, each with its distinct charm and appeal.

Whether you prefer the traditional look or are drawn to the uniqueness of the Biewer or Parti Yorkie, understanding these different types will help you choose the perfect companion that suits your preferences and lifestyle.

Always ensure that you obtain your Yorkie from reputable breeders who prioritize the health and well-being of these beloved toy breeds.

What’s your Reaction?
Sharing Is Caring:

As an experienced writer with a deep understanding of astrology and angel numbers, I have dedicated my career to helping people understand the power and meaning behind these celestial concepts. With a passion for guiding others toward their highest potential, Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest

Leave a Comment